Recipes: Dairy Free Quiche

It was quite a while ago that I was experimenting with wheat/dairy free recipes. I have suspected that I might have a sensitivity to both, or at least, as a protein type, it wasn’t as adventageous for me to consume grains or dairy. So I started coming up with recipes that could be made without them. 

Quiche is thought of as very dairy-heavy – cream, milk, and cheese are frequently added. (Eggs are part of it too, but as you know, they are not dairy products. Just a reminder.) But for this one, I decided to try it out with coconut milk. Why not? It’s creamy like milk, it has healthier fat than cream (thought people debate this) and it is delicious. This recipe also has no cheese in it, and it tastes just great without it. I used a crust made of rye and rice flour – no wheat flour.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pre-made frozen rye/rice flour crust
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 6 oz mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • teaspoon olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • ground nutmeg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Remove crust from freezer and let thaw. Scramble eggs in a bowl, and stir in coconut milk to incorporate. In a pan, saute mushrooms and onions with olive oil until soft. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Place veggies in the pie crust, then pour egg mixture in to fill to the top. Bake in 375 degree oven for 25 – 30 minutes until set and fork inserted in center comes out clean. Serve hot. Enjoy!

6 responses to “Recipes: Dairy Free Quiche

  1. kimberlysnyder

    Hi there,
    Interesting recipe! I agree, I think most people have trouble digesting dairy. It is also really clogging for your skin, and dulls the complexion – amongst many other things! I’ve switched over to almond milk, or make my own Brazil milk when I have time. Have you tried it?

  2. Hi Kimberly,

    I have tried almond milk, but never Brazil milk. And I have yet to make my own, but I’m sure that it’s much more delicious than any that you can buy in the store. Thanks for your comment!

    Christy

  3. I’ve started using coconut milk and chicken broth wherever a recipe calls for cream of chicken soup – it works really well! Very tasty.

  4. Thanks for this recipe! My 23 mth old son is allergic to cows milk but my other children are having a hard time with his limitations. I was wanting to find a quich recipe that I could make one for him (and me since he’s still nursing) and one for the other kids. I can’t wait to give this a try! I have never used coconut milk though, he will only drink choc almond milk but I use rice milk for cereal & all cooking. Do you think it would work with rice milk or almond milk( I would use plain almond)?

  5. Hi
    I really like the way this receipe sounds. Will try it out. My Fiance has an intollerence to wheat and dairy – therefore was looking for a receipe for quiche without dairy.
    But will you know what it comes out like.
    Once again – thank you

  6. I always spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles everyday along
    with a mug of coffee.

Leave a Reply

