Finding your whys

I’ve tried to kick my sugar habit a few times. It always went the same way – I was good for a few weeks, and I felt virtuous when I was finally off the habit. I’d lose and few pounds, have more energy, and feel great. Then something would happen – a birthday celebration, a holiday, or some other reason to indulge. And then I’d fall back into old patterns of afternoon snacks.

When I decided to get serious about kicking sugar, I realized that I had to have a bigger reason to ditch the sweets than just wanting to lose weight. I remember one of my teachers saying, “The bigger the WHY, the easier the HOW.” I knew that if I had some really big whys, the hows of quitting would become so much easier.

I did some research on sugar to find out what it could be doing to my body. Besides making you fat, I found that there are more than 120 symptoms or diseases that sugar can affect – among them autoimmune diseases, heart disease, cancer, depression, memory loss. If that’s not scary enough, there’s always the vanity angle to make you want to stop eating it – varicose veins, premature aging (i.e. wrinkles), pimples, and cellulite.

Now that I had my facts, it was easier for me to overcome the emotional issues. Every time I wanted something sweet, I’d remind myself of how it would make me feel and look.

One response to “Finding your whys

  1. I just found your site. Sounds like a great concept- I’m looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

