Food and Mood

Gary Null was on PBS this morning doing a panel discussion with a number of doctors about holistic healing. One of the doctors said that people with minor depression can alleviate their symptoms with dietary changes before it becomes more severe and it needs to treated it with drugs.

I wish that this option was presented to me in college when I was having anxiety attacks and clinical depression. Instead, the system took the easy way out, sending me to health services to get free samples of Zoloft and talk to the school psychologist. While I eventually convinced them that I should be taken off the antidepressants, because I didn’t really need them, I didn’t make the food-mood connection until much later on my own when I learned how to take better care of myself.

Leave a Reply

