DIY: Butter

The New York Times Magazine ran an interesting story this past weekend about do-it-yourself butter. About 6 months ago, I actually made my own butter using cream that was leftover from the holidays. Here’s how it turned out:

Homemade butter

I made it the way that I learned in grade school – put cream in a jar with a tight lid and shake shake shake. I recommend making it this way only if you have a lot of extra time on your hands and need a good workout.

I didn’t know that I could have used the buttermilk in other recipes (so I tossed it), and I also didn’t realize I could knead it to get even more liquid out of it. Even though it took a while and my arms were tired, it was totally worth it – the butter was delicious.

Leave a Reply

