Love Your Job, Love Your Life

I’ve spent a long time looking for that perfect job that would satisfy my longing for work that I love. I’ve worked at big, old companies and small startups. Multi-million dollar operations and bankrupt firms. Freelance, full-time, part-time, and temporary. I’ve been a hot dog vendor, frozen yogurt artist(?) (barrista?), waitress, journalist, editor, marketing writer, project manager, telemarketer, sales representative, teacher, coach and entrepreneur.

The search has been worth it, to be sure. For every misstep that I took, I learned an important lesson – about who I am as an employee, what I like to do, with whom I like to do it, and in what environment I prefer. And while it’s true that I can be whatever I want when I grow up — that is, it’s possible for me to do lots of different things — I excel only at those things that I truly enjoy.

Positive Sharing is a blog all about loving your work or finding work you can love. Chief happiness officer and author of the site, Alexander Kjerulf, has just written a book called Happy Hour is 9 to 5 (I love that title). I’ve browsed through the site and the book a little bit, and there are a lot of good, thoughtfully-written pieces. Check out the most popular articles section – I like the post on cool workspaces

(Found via Thought Press.)

3 responses to “Love Your Job, Love Your Life

  1. Speechie Keen

    Thanks for this post and the link to the positive sharing blog.

    I’m glad you’ve found a job that works well for you and learned valuable lessons along the way.

    SK

  2. Thanks for the link & post. You are so right when you said you can only excel at things you truly enjoy. It took me a long time to learn that because I thought I would excel better at high paying jobs that I didn’t enjoy, but was I ever wrong. I guess better late than never.

  3. Farmerb –

    At least you figured it out. Some people suffer though their whole lives without ever finding work they enjoy – or sometimes even bothering to look for it.

Leave a Reply

