Trusting Your Gut

Have you ever surpassed thinking to go with your gut, only to find that you were right after all? Many CEOs think with their gut because not only do they not have enough time to look at all of the data, they also know that it’s not always worth their time to dig that deep, especially if they feel they have strong people working under them. And, they usually end up making the right decision after all.

When I don’t trust my gut, I usually end up regretting my decision. It has taken a long time for me to realize this, and I had to learn the hard way a few times. I still catch myself distrusting my own instinct sometimes.

About seven years ago, I went to a psychic for a reading. I was 27, I could sense in my gut that I was about to face a huge turning point in my life and I needed some guidance. I didn’t realize the extent to which my life would change until much later.

Before meeting me, the only information he had about me was my name and my phone number. He told me all kinds of information about my family and past, things that only I or my family members would know. He recorded the session on cassette so that I could listen to it later.

With these kinds of readings – psychic or astrological or whatever – the reader seems to always tell you what you need to hear. They give you advice, and then you take it or leave it. I’ve found, at least for me, that if I’m asking for advice, it means that I’m not trusting my own gut instinct (thus, I’m going for a reading).

I just listened to the cassette again a couple of days ago. With seven years of perspective, I can now hear things that I couldn’t back then – or, that I didn’t process because I was either unable or unwilling to understand at the time.

Back then, I didn’t want to hear that I was going to need to do a lot of soul searching and discovery before I would find my career. I certainly didn’t want to hear that I was a highly sensitive, intuitive artist that had the potential to blossom into her art if she gave it a chance. All of this information was way too scary for me to even contemplate. And it didn’t fit the mold that I thought everyone wanted me to fit.

Well, life unraveled for me anyway, as hard as I fought against it. Not trusting my gut (again), I moved to downtown Manhattan on Sept 8, 2001. Three days later, I was homeless. Three weeks later, I was single and jobless. With nowhere to go and nothing to do, I knew it was time for me to take a break from New York.

While I would not wish an unraveling like this for anyone, it actually helped me immensely. Stepping back gave me the perspective to see everything as it was. I got connected to my spirituality again and discovered the power of meditation. I learned how to define myself for me – not for others’ expectations of me. And I learned being selfish isn’t necessarily bad, especially if helps you become more selfless.

This post was inspired by a friend’s memory of things past.

Leave a Reply

