One Step

“A journey of 1000 miles begins with one step.”

-Tao Te Ching

I started reading The Now Habit: A Strategic Program for Overcoming Procrastination and Enjoying Guilt-Free Play yesterday. I am a life-long procrastinator. I have turned around the negativity of being one by saying, “I work very well under pressure.” It’s true, I do work well under pressure. But why work under pressure if you don’t have to? It just causes more stress and takes away from time you could spend relaxing.

So, today I’m making lists of when I procrastinate and what I’m thinking when I do it. It’s very interesting to see what makes me want to slack off and to hear what I say to try to motivate myself (I have to do this or I must finish) to confront the task at hand. I haven’t stopped procrastinating yet, but at least I’m becoming aware of my habits. One step at a time.

What about you? What’s the one step you’re going to take today?

2 responses to “One Step

  1. I like this idea.

    I’ve started making to-do lists, and do-not-do lists. the do-not-do list is a list of things that, as much as I would like to do them, can be put off… not forever, just not right now.

    I think keeping track of what makes me procrastinate is a good idea. Plus it means another list I can make, and I like lists 🙂

  2. Pingback: Time for Yourself « A Delicious Life

Leave a Reply

