Know Your Audience: Overheard While Traveling

This past weekend, I traveled to the South. Driving in the car from the airport to my destination, I scanned the radio stations looking for something to entertain me.

I came upon a Christian broadcast that was talking about food of all things. The preacher (minister?) was connecting diet to spirituality. He quoted a health study done, I think, on Seventh Day Adventists that was conducted in California that noted that the more vegetarian the Adventist was, the healthier and longer he lived. Lacto-ovo vegs did better than meat eaters, but vegans did far better than either group. He was also quoting the bible and talking about the diet that God wanted us to be on – which was largely a vegetarian diet.

A couple of days later, I drove back to the airport at a very early hour. Again, I scanned the stations looking for something to listen to during my drive. I stopped at a broadcast of a morning show promo. A guy was making fun of PETA (people for the ethical treatment of animals) protestors who were planning a rally against something meat related (I can’t remember what). He had the morning show crew cracking up about how the PETA people were protesting the consumption of milk, saying that it’s unhealthy for humans and bad for cows. “What the heck are we supposed to drink? Soy milk?”

Leave a Reply

