Music: Curtis Eller

Music doesn’t really belong on this site, but I include occasional postings about bands that move me because as I explained in an earlier post, music is one of my primary foods.

I saw Curtis Eller perform at Banjo Jim’s in the East Village on Wednesday night. According to his bio, he is “New York City’s angriest yodeling banjo player,” and that is a pretty accurate description. Maybe you’re thinking, who cares about a banjo player? But he’s one of the most dynamic performers I’ve seen in a while. You have to go see him. He’s playing at the Brooklyn Lyceum on Sunday at 7 pm. Go see him.

Coincidentally, I missed seeing a former colleague play at the very same venue that night. He was on earlier in the evening, and I didn’t even know he was playing until I looked at the chalkboard outside when I was leaving. Oh well, next time.

Leave a Reply

