Time for Yourself

About a month ago, I wrote a post about The Now Habit by Neil Fiore, a book that helps you overcome procrastination. I’ve been regularly using some of the techniques that he recommends, and I’ve found that I’m getting a lot more productive even if I don’t use them consistently.

My favorite tool is the Unschedule. It’s a simple chart that you use to block out how you spend your time.

When you fill out your Unschedule,  you are supposed to fill in all of the tasks that you always do first – eat, sleep, workout, etc. – to make sure that you take that time for yourself. Then you need to fill in time to have fun – time with friends, family or to nurture yourself.

Finally, after you have all your to-dos and guilt-free play in, you schedule in your work. That way, you don’t feel like you’re always working (even though you’re not really anyway – you’re procrastinating and putting off work while not doing anything fun or worthwhile).

I highly recommend trying this out if you find you are a chronic procrastinator. It has really helped me not only bring more peace to my life but also get things done on a regular basis.

One response to “Time for Yourself

  1. Pingback: Working More Efficiently « A Delicious Life

Leave a Reply

