200 hamburgers to 213 pounds

A few months ago, Johan Groundstroem from Sweden got on the scale and was disturbed by what he saw. So disturbed that he decided to go on a diet. But not an ordinary diet – a hamburger diet.

You see, he wasn’t interested in eating all that health food like “algae soup and seaweed stew.” He wanted to eat food that he enjoyed. So he contacted the Swedish hamburger chain Max and asked for sponsorship. They agreed, and Johan became the Jared of Sweden.

Now 31 kilos (68.3 pounds) lighter, achieved in just 100 days, Johan has exceeded his weight loss goal of 20 kilos in 90 days. He’s shared his story on his blog, Minimize Me – and garnered media attention for it.

Now, you don’t have to give up your favorite foods to lose weight, but you do need to create a plan and stick to it. Johan’s suggestions:


1. Adopt a target and a menu – STICK TO IT AND DON’T CHEAT – EVER!

2. Motivation – Who could possibly backtrack on a weight-loss programme if they have nailed their colours to the mast on a website? In my case, it attracted a lot of attention and I’ve had to promise not to go over 100 kg again!

3. The food – Eat something you really like! Forget the algae soup and seaweed stew! I will continue to eat hamburgers, but with a side order of salad, water or milk instead. The difference is that I will now have to start paying for my hamburgers, isn’t that right Alexandra (wink wink).

4. Ask someone for help – A friend, a dietician, a personal trainer. Find a weight-loss pal! I have made lots of new contacts via my site, and these have meant an awful lot to me! Lise, you are a star – better motivation is hard to find!

7 responses to “200 hamburgers to 213 pounds

  1. I think the way you worked your diet is fabulous. I love hamburgers and recently started using turkey meat with turkey bacon and lots of veggies also using skim cheese. I still get my mega dose of hamburger with out so many calories.
    Good job I am proud of you.

  2. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  3. Hamburgers worked for me too. You should read my book, the Hamburger Diet. Not only did I lose weight, but my cholesterol dropped. I am losing weight and totally satisfied. Check it out.

  4. I actually googled “Hamburger Diet” because I am down to my highschool weight by eating a hamburger for every meal….without the bun. I just wanted to see if other people were doing it too.

  5. For you dieters out there. Yes,it’s very well possible to lose PLENTY of weight and KEEP it off by eating what you love….the secret is….portions and EXERCISE! I eat a 1000 cal Spicy Italian sub a day,and some other food which totals 2000 calories,i walk 18,000 steps a day (security work) and so far i’ve lost 25 lbs in 3 months and i’ve kept all my muscle!

  6. It’s all about calories. I’ve done the hamburger diet; eating a hamburger once a day and lost weight and inches off my waist. I also drank lots of water. It works. If you dissect a hamburger, the ingredients are actually fairly healthy.

Leave a Reply

