Lent

It’s Ash Wednesday, and there are many people walking around midtown with black smudges on their foreheads. There are a few people in my office, too, who had gone to church that morning to commemorate the beginning of the season.

Just for fun, a few colleagues who sit near me decided on Tuesday that they would give up going out to lunch for Lent – the rule was that they would have to bring home made lunch from now until Easter. They asked me if I wanted to join in, to see how long we could last, and I agreed. Not for religious reasons, but for the challenge. Also, I figured that it would be healthier anyway – for not just my overall health, but also my waistline and wallet. And I’m sure that I’ll be able to stick to it the whole time – I almost always bring my lunch anyway.

So, five of us have taken on the challenge. It’s day one, and only four of us have stuck to the agreement – one of the guys couldn’t even make it through the first day. If only he realized what might happen if he just gave up take out for a month or so – how his health might improve, even if he generally feels ok, maybe he wouldn’t have given up so easily.

One response to “Lent

  1. I’m still doing well on my efforts to give up caffeinated beverages for Lent. I had a really stressful day today, but I didn’t get nearly as wound up as I used to. Even though I was only drinking black tea, I think it makes a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

