Drugs for Everything

I suffered from insomnia the other night, but I didn’t bother taking anything for it. I slept as much as I could and hoped for the best during the day. I was a little sleepy, but I didn’t bother tanking up on coffee either. I knew it would be worse the next day if I did – I would probably have some kind of rebound effect like a headache, more insomnia, or who knows what else.

Now there’s a new supplement on the market that promises to have you wake up on time. Made from guarana extract, B vitamins, and riboflavin and niacin, with a special coating that acts as a time release mechanism, Wake Up on Time supposedly has you do just that.

Maybe it does work, maybe it doesn’t. And yes, very few of us don’t get enough sleep, go to bed too late, drink too much coffee for us to fall asleep at a reasonable hour. But wouldn’t it make more sense to try to get back into balance instead of taking pills to sleep and pills to wake up?  True health does not come in a bottle. It comes from developing healthy habits and making a commitment to taking care of yourself over the long term.

Leave a Reply

