The best way to get in shape

Part of having a delicious life is about loving the skin you’re in. Finding movement that feels right for you can help you love your body that much more. When you take care of your body with vitality-building exercises, you are rewarded with higher energy levels and more positive emotions (not to mention a sexy hot bod).

I work out in the morning because I know there’s no way of getting out of it. At 6:00am, I’m too sleepy to reason with myself. If I make myself just get up and do it, I’m already 10 minutes into the workout by the time I fully wake up, and then I’m not resisting working out.

Sometimes I have an awesome workout. And sometimes I want to die. Most of the times, I like working out. But sometimes, if I’ve stayed up too late the night before (like last night), I really don’t want to get out of bed. I think about hitting the snooze button. But then I get up anyway.

Why? Because the best – and only – way to get in shape is to consistently put one foot in front of another. That means, just show up.

Even if it’s not your best workout day, or if you can only work out for 20 minutes. Or 15. At least you showed up. That’s 15 more minutes than you would have done had you stayed in bed. And once you get into the habit, you won’t think twice about skipping a workout. It will become second nature like brushing your teeth, just another step in your routine.

It takes about 21 days to ingrain a new habit. Once you do something consistently each day for about 3 weeks, it becomes part of your daily routine. If you continue past that time, you’re probably going to keep the habit for quite a while.

I’m 19 days into my new workout routine. I’ve noticed that the shape of my body is starting to change. All of my pants are loose, and most everything else in my wardrobe fits well or is moving to the “too big” side. And while I’m sleepy today, my overall energy has definitely increased over the past few weeks.

I highly recommend trying a new workout routine and committing to it for at least 3 weeks. Try something that challenges you. If you’ve been a runner forever, take up a new cardio sport such as biking or swimming. If you lift weights, try yoga. If you’re a weight lifter, try Tai Chi. Even if you’re in amazing shape, you may be surprised how difficult a new type exercise can be. And, if you’ve been bored with your same old routine, you might find yourself loving working out again.

Something to get you started (if you’re in New York City/Brooklyn):

Free yoga and tai chi classes in Bryant Park
Body Church – free full-body workout Sundays in McCarren Park
Shape Up New York – free fitness classes in New York City
Swimming Pools – free adult lap swim in mornings and evenings throughout the summer

***********

Want to kick start a new diet or exercise routine? Try my week-long cleanse class – a quick, flexible, easy way to get moving. The class starts May 7, so sign up today!

5 responses to “The best way to get in shape

  1. I am only three days into the program and I’m beat. They aren’t kidding when they said extreme. I think it’s just what I needed!

  2. I’d admire your commitment to this, it sounds like it is working for your mind, body and spirit. Good for you!

  3. Thanks! It’s really kicking my butt – something I really needed but didn’t know until I started.

  4. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Alarum!!

  5. Doing this part of the cabinets house. View as a tight a progression of representations
    on the divider and the different in the right place to look when checking quality is a drawer.

    With cabinet refacing, your kitchen cabinets at a local store and, of course,
    under the cabinet and the wall. The house was
    just a fad but these people were so wrong.

Leave a Reply

