The Manic Cure

I’m feeling rather frazzled lately. Too much on my mind, and too many things to keep track of at once. Even though I have the check list of to do’s, it still seems like I’m missing something. I need to slow down, but how can I when my mind is racing like this?

A friend of mine recently told me about her friend’s very simple remedy for constant activity. When she feels like she needs a mini vacation, she gets a manicure.

I’m not one of those girly girls who likes to go to the salon all of the time or even wears nail polish (except for my toes in the summer because my feet look so much better in sandals when I do). But there’s some good sense in this piece of advice. When someone is working on your hands, you can’t do anything – write, read, talk on the phone, push buttons, etc. You have to just sit still and wait for them to clean, cut, shape and polish your fingertips. Then you have to wait for the paint to dry. It’s boring to sit there watching the little fans drying your digits, but that’s all you can do. And then you realize that you haven’t done anything for at least 30 minutes and, well that feels pretty good actually.

I think it’s about time I get one.

2 responses to “The Manic Cure

  1. I think getting a facial is better. They give you face and back massages and you get to just lay there and rest while being being pampered!

  2. That’s funny — I am happy to get a massage, facial, or pedicure, but I get extremely antsy when I get a manicure. Maybe I can’t handle just sitting there for 30 minutes. 🙂 I also don’t like sitting there knee to knee with the manicurist, trying not to stare at her/him.

Leave a Reply

